About Contact Volunteer Join Donate Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

About Market Street Railway

Market Street Railway is the nonprofit preservation partner of the San Francisco Municipal Railway (Muni), the city agency that owns and operates San Francisco’s transit system, including its historic streetcars and cable cars. While we support Muni’s historic transit activities, we are not part of Muni and we receive no government money whatsoever.

Instead, we rely on membership dues and private donations to help keep San Francisco’s past present in the future by serving as an effective independent advocate for the famed historic streetcars of the F-line, and the national landmark cable cars, which together carry more than 45,000 riders per day.

Learn about our Projects & Programs »

Our name is one of the most famous in San Francisco history — for the companies that used it long before we came into existence in 1976. The history of our name is in many ways a history of transit in San Francisco.

History of Market Street Railway »

We are proud to be a volunteer-based organization. The passion of our committed and involved members has made all the difference in achieving our goal of preserving historic transit in San Francisco. We welcome new volunteers, who find that if they have a passion for a particular project and are willing to do what it takes to get it done, our organization provides a supportive, enjoyable environment for them.

Volunteer »

If you would like more information about Market Street Railway or have questions about our organization, the best way to contact us is by email at info@streetcar.org. You can also call (415) 956-0472 and leave a message for us.

Board of Directors

Doug Wright, Chair
Bruce Agid, Vice Chair
Art Curtis, Corporate Secretary
George Pleasant, Treasurer
Alison Cant
Ian Dailey
Nick Figone
Will Flynn
Rich Hillis
Todd Lappin
Tam Tran
Walt Vielbaum
Paul Wells
Jeremy Whiteman
Alex Zwissler

Rick Laubscher, President

Advisory Council

Alessandro Baccari
A. Lee Blitch
Louis Briasco
Kevin Carroll
Troy Campbell
Jim Chappell
Carmen Clark
Chip Conley
Tom Creedon
Joe D’Alessandro
Oz Erickson
Tom Escher
Rodney Fong
Anne Halsted
Katy Liddell
Arthur Lloyd
Feysan Jefferson Lodde
Sharyn Saslafsky
Leslie Tang Schilling