About Market Street Railway

About Market Street Railway

Those wonderful vintage streetcars on San Francisco’s Market Street and the waterfront? We played the key role in making them a reality and we constantly advocate for keeping them on the streets and looking good.

The unique cable cars climbing “halfway to the stars”? We work to make them better, in every way.

We’re Market Street Railway, an independent nonprofit group focused on preserving historic transit in San Francisco. We don’t own or operate the historic streetcars or cable cars — San Francisco’s public transit agency, known as Muni, does that — but we work hard to make sure these public transit lines get the public funding and attention they deserve as world-famous parts of our city.

This hard work has been noticed by observers. It’s been said of our streetcar initiatives, “without us, it’d be a bus”.

We have acquired numerous historic streetcars from around the world for San Francisco. We advocate for route extensions, improved service, and other enhancements to San Francisco’s unmatched vintage rail operations.

As an independent group, we receive no government money whatsoever. We are not part of Muni, but we enjoy a positive working relationship with them.

We rely on dues from our members and donations from supporters to do our work. We welcome your help.

We extend appreciation to our business supporters. Learn about them here.

Learn more about our projects and priorities »

Click the link directly above to learn about our current projects and priorities.  

History of Market Street Railway »

The history of our name is in many ways a history of transit in San Francisco. Click the link above to see.

Volunteer »

We are proud to be a volunteer-based organization. The link above tells you some of the fun ways you can help us.  


Board of Directors

  • Carmen Clark (Chair)
  • James Giraudo (Vice Chair & Secretary)
  • George Pleasant (Treasurer)
  • Mike Brown
  • Taryn Edwards
  • David Gallagher
  • Leslie Rogers
  • Kat Siegal
  • Paul Wells
  • William J. Flynn (Emeritus)

President and CEO

Operations and Museum Manager

Advisory Council

  • Bruce Agid
  • Kevin Carroll
  • Jim Chappell
  • Joe D’Alessandro
  • Oz Erickson
  • Tracy Everwine
  • Nick Figone
  • Rodney Fong
  • Leslie Katz
  • Katy Liddell
  • David Perry
  • Marisa Rodriguez
  • Antone Sabella
  • Masood Samereie
  • Sharyn Saslafsky
  • Robbie Silver
  • Leslie Tang Schilling
  • Randall Scott

General inquiries: info@streetcar.org, (415) 956-0472.